A Word About the Revamped Blog

My blogs were beginning to resemble pack ice – fractured and floating aimlessly in the bay.  I decided to rationalise them into a single entity which has become The Reading Gene.  I make no apologies for the fact that this blog has a split personality – in that way, it’s much like its owner.  So this is the new, improved, focused blog and I feel it deserves a few words of explanation.

I tend to write a lot about books and writing, when I’m inspired to do so, and I’ve included an archive of some of the reviews that I’ve written elsewhere online.  This will grow as I’m inspired to write but this is not a ‘book blog’ so I’ve chosen to keep them in the archive section rather than the main blog.  When a new review is up, I’ll post a link in the main blog.

One of the reasons I like to blog is to force me to maintain a writing habit.  I have always written but life has a tendency of getting in the way.  I’m trying to finish a big piece of creative work right now but I lost touch with the daily writing habit for a while which has made this much harder.  Reinventing this blog is my way of re-establishing that habit.  I’ve also lost the connections that I used to have through university to a constructively critical readership, which I find really important to the creative process.  It’s less that I need someone to judge what works and what doesn’t, more that there is a collective momentum that comes from being a part of a shared artistic experience that I miss now I’m writing alone on the bed.

I am a literature person.  I have read and written as long as I can remember.  It’s just that somewhere along the way, I accidentally did a PhD in Genetics.  So, it appears I am also a science person – it just took me a little while to notice.  While I was accidentally studying science, I also started running (possibly away from the science …). Warning: this blog will contain science and running – sometimes it may even contain running science.

This is not a definitive list … my mind follows a wandering path, as will this blog.  You are welcome to accompany it.

 

Leave a Reply

