Back on the Road Again

Distance: 3.25k
Time: 27min 17sec
Pace: 8:25min/k
Listening to: World War Z by Max Brooks

I should be running a marathon but I’m not going to think about that right now. If running teaches you anything in life, it’s the value of patience. Today was my first run back after an injury. There’s the patience. I want to fly, to get back to running for over an hour, to escape to the ‘happy running place’ for half a morning. Instead, I’m gently nursing my injured hip and taking satisfaction in the fact that it held up for over 3k. Even so, welcome back endorphins. I’ve missed you. We should catch up more.

I’m listening to the unabridged audiobook World War Z. I thoroughly enjoyed it in print and the audio is equally as good. This book lends itself to audio really well because of it’s multi-narrator perspective & ‘interview’ style presentation. It’s actually a very well thought out book, raising intelligent questions. I have a sneaking suspicion that the very plausibility of a zombie plague and the opportunity it provides to examine how a society breaks down and rebuilds is why we are so drawn to zombie mythology. Certainly makes you run faster!

Leave a Reply

